Article

Qu’est-ce que la livraison en direct ? Avantages, problématiques et premiers pas

À propos de Article

La livraison en direct (« dropshipping » en anglais) peut être intéressante pour les cybermarchands qui souhaitent réduire leurs frais généraux. Mais ce marché n’ayant cessé de se développer au cours des dernières années, la concurrence est de plus en plus vive. De plus, ceux qui adoptent cette approche doivent s’attendre à des marges bénéficiaires limitées et choisir une plateforme d’e-commerce adaptée.

Qu’est-ce que la livraison en direct ?

Dans cette stratégie de retail, le vendeur ne gère et n’écoule pas lui-même ses stocks de produits. Lorsqu’il reçoit une commande, il transmet les informations nécessaires (référence produit, adresse de livraison, date de la commande, etc.) à un tiers chargé de la traiter en son nom.

Le processus de livraison en direct comporte cinq étapes :

  • Un acheteur passe commande auprès d’un retailer.
  • Ce dernier la traite et la transmet au grossiste.
  • Le grossiste reçoit la commande.
  • Il l’expédie.
  • L’acheteur reçoit sa commande.

La principale différence entre la livraison en direct et le retail classique réside dans le fait que le retailer ne détient aucun stock et ne dispose pas non plus de l’infrastructure physique normalement associée. En outre, la livraison en direct modifie fondamentalement la dynamique entre fournisseur et retailer. Au lieu d’acheter des articles à des fournisseurs et de les revendre, le retailer fait suivre les commandes aux fournisseurs qui les traitent pour son compte. De par l’absence de stocks physiques, la livraison en direct ne concerne que les retailers en ligne.

Découvrez les implications de la livraison en direct en termes de TVA.

Avantages

La livraison en direct comporte des avantages considérables pour les vendeurs en ligne :

  • Coûts de lancement réduits
    Les entreprises qui optent pour ce modèle n’ont pas à investir de capitaux pour acquérir un stock ni à détenir un emplacement pour l’entreposer. Elles n’ont pas non plus besoin de consacrer du temps à l’organisation de leur stock, ni d’embaucher pour le traitement des commandes. La barrière à l’entrée est donc minime par rapport à une activité de retail classique.
  • Évolutivité
    Un retailer pratiquant la livraison en direct peut se développer rapidement, car le traitement des commandes ne dépend ni de la taille d’un emplacement physique, ni du nombre de collaborateurs requis pour expédier une commande. Cette approche peut donc être très intéressante pour ceux dont les ventes fluctuent en raison de facteurs saisonniers ou autres.
  • Diminution des coûts de gestion des stocks
    En éliminant le stock physique, la livraison en direct réduit les frais de gestion du retailer. Inutile de consacrer du temps au suivi des stocks, à l’administration de l’infrastructure qui les abrite et à la gestion des livraisons, qui sont sous-traitées au fournisseur.
  • Une offre de produits étoffée
    Avec la livraison en direct, les retailers peuvent proposer une multitude de produits, ce qui est particulièrement intéressant pour les PME, dont les capacités de stockage sont généralement limitées.
  • Souplesse
    La livraison en direct est un gage de souplesse dans de nombreux aspects du retail. L’entreprise peut exercer ses activités en tout lieu, proposer différents types de produits et adapter facilement son offre en fonction de l’évolution des préférences sur le marché.

Les problématiques

Bien que ce modèle se développe de plus en plus, il comporte son lot de défis. Pour qu’il soit efficace, les spécificités de son workflow doivent cadrer avec les objectifs de l’entreprise. Il faut également tenir compte des effets négatifs de cette approche, comme les marges réduites ou les éventuels problèmes juridiques.

La dépendance vis-à-vis des fournisseurs

Si les retailers sont toujours dépendants de leurs fournisseurs dans une certaine mesure, c’est encore plus vrai avec la livraison en direct. En cas de non-exécution d’une commande par un fournisseur tiers, le retailer en paie le prix, car c’est à lui que le client adresse ses réclamations. De même, si un fournisseur fait soudainement faillite, les activités du retailer risquent d’être considérablement perturbées.

Ces problèmes seraient moins graves si le retailer avait accès à son propre stock, car il pourrait alors poursuivre ses activités le temps de trouver un nouveau fournisseur. Les jeunes entreprises doivent donc mettre en place un plan de continuité de l’activité pour parer à cette éventualité.

Avec la livraison en direct, la disponibilité des produits et le contrôle qualité sont aussi du ressort de tiers. Il est donc impossible pour le retailer de vérifier les articles avant leur expédition au client ou de proposer des services à forte valeur ajoutée, comme la pré-installation d’un logiciel sur un téléphone ou la gravure d’un message personnalisé sur un bijou.

Une concurrence accrue

Les barrières à l’entrée étant minimes, la concurrence est vive. Rien n’empêche vos concurrents de vendre les mêmes articles que vous, sauf si vous signez un contrat d’exclusivité avec un fournisseur pour la livraison en direct de certains produits.

Cette impossibilité de proposer des produits ou services exclusifs signifie qu’il est sans doute plus difficile de se démarquer lorsqu’on pratique la livraison en direct. Les retailers doivent s’affronter sur d’autres terrains, par exemple en offrant une expérience client d’exception ou une expérience d’e-commerce agréable et mémorable.

Des marges restreintes

Avec l’externalisation d’une partie du traitement des commandes, les revenus générés par la livraison en direct sont moindres. Pour dégager les mêmes bénéfices qu’un retailer classique, il faut donc augmenter le volume des ventes.

Un support client plus compliqué

Il est plus difficile pour un retailer qui n’a pas la main sur son stock de solutionner les éventuels problèmes de commande. Si le client a une question sur le produit, le juge défectueux ou déclare ne l’avoir jamais reçu, le retailer doit se rapprocher du fournisseur pour régler le problème. Ce workflow est plus laborieux et plus coûteux que celui d’une vente classique.

Tout savoir sur les règles fiscales applicables à la livraison en direct

Comment réussir ses premiers pas ?

Avant de vous lancer dans la livraison en direct, vous devez élaborer une stratégie pour vous démarquer.

Identification de la niche et planification du développement

La première étape consiste à identifier la bonne opportunité sur le marché. Comme indiqué précédemment, il est facile pour un retailer de se lancer dans la livraison en direct. Vous devez donc trouver un marché cible qui ne soit pas déjà saturé de vendeurs proposant de livrer en direct les mêmes articles que vous. Il est bon de se focaliser sur l’identification de produits généralement difficiles à obtenir par les acheteurs sans passer directement par un fournisseur, mais aussi difficiles à stocker par un retailer.

Prenons l’exemple des pièces automobiles spécialisées. En général, elles ne sont pas disponibles en magasin. En outre, seuls les plus gros retailers peuvent théoriquement les avoir en stock, car le volume de vente de chacune des pièces est vraisemblablement très faible. Il est donc coûteux de les avoir toutes en stock par rapport aux revenus qu’elles génèrent sur une période donnée. Proposées en livraison en direct, ces pièces peuvent être rentables pour un petit retailer.

En passant un accord avec un fournisseur pour le traitement des commandes, il est effectivement plus avantageux pour vous de cibler un marché particulier que pour un retailer classique désireux de vendre les mêmes types de produits.

Il est aussi important de réfléchir au marché qui serait le plus propice au développement de votre activité à long terme. En mettant l’accent sur une gamme de produits pour laquelle vous possédez une expertise, vous aurez un avantage sur la concurrence, même si d’autres retailers commencent à proposer les mêmes articles en livraison en direct. De même, renseignez-vous pour savoir dans quelle mesure la catégorie d’articles que vous vendez est susceptible de se développer dans les années à venir.

Création du site

Après avoir déterminé votre orientation en termes de produits, vous pouvez passer à la création de votre site web. Nombre de plateformes d’e-commerce pourront vous être utiles dans ce domaine. Choisissez celle qui vous aidera à atteindre vos objectifs.

Vous devez notamment tenir compte de l’étendue de ses fonctionnalités. Pour plus de facilité, mieux vaut sans doute opter pour une solution unique offrant tout ce qu’il faut pour créer un site de livraison en direct.

Autre élément à prendre en compte : le degré de visibilité que vous aurez sur le processus de gestion des commandes grâce à votre site et aux outils associés. Pour faciliter les activités du service clientèle et être au courant des éventuels problèmes avec les fournisseurs, vous devez pouvoir recueillir autant d’informations que possible sur ce qu’il se passe une fois les commandes transmises au fournisseur.

L’expérience en ligne ne doit pas non plus être négligée, car la mise en place d’un environnement d’e-commerce fluide peut vous aider à vous démarquer sur des marchés concurrentiels. Veillez à ce que le site soit configuré de telle sorte que les utilisateurs puissent y accéder, le parcourir et y effectuer facilement des achats sur leurs devices préférés.

Gestion des finances

Si la livraison en direct ne nécessite qu’un investissement initial modéré, il est indispensable de gérer correctement l’aspect financier pour pouvoir dégager durablement des bénéfices. Suivez les bénéfices générés par chaque vente et n’ayez pas peur d’explorer d’autres offres de produits si votre gamme actuelle ne génère pas les revenus attendus.

Vous avez également tout intérêt à réévaluer régulièrement vos partenaires. Peut-être trouverez-vous ainsi un nouveau fournisseur qui pratique des tarifs plus avantageux pour les mêmes produits. Cette adaptabilité est cruciale si vous voulez maximiser les revenus de la livraison en direct.

Vous devez également tenir compte de la fiscalité dans votre équation financière. La livraison en direct a tendance à compliquer la fiscalité, car le calcul de la TVA dépend notamment du pays du fournisseur. Consultez ce guide pour en savoir plus sur la façon d’aborder la fiscalité dans le cadre de la livraison en direct.

Collaboration avec les fournisseurs et traitement des commandes

Compte tenu du rôle clé des fournisseurs dans la livraison en direct, il est important d’en choisir un qui soit fiable et traite les commandes rapidement. Renseignez-vous auprès de fournisseurs bien établis, qui ont fait leurs preuves en matière de partenariats avec les retailers.

Form relationships with multiple suppliers so if one runs out of an item – or goes out of business – you have a backup ready to pick up the slack. Order and test out a few products from each to see if they can deliver quality goods in a timely fashion. This has the added bonus of giving you first-hand experience with the products you’re selling so you can better market them to customers.

Dans le contrat signé avec le fournisseur, prêtez attention aux clauses relatives aux ruptures de stock : la commande est-elle purement et simplement annulée, ou bien sera-t-elle traitée une fois l’article de nouveau en stock ? De même, si un client signale un problème dû au fournisseur et qu’un remboursement vous paraît justifié, renseignez-vous pour savoir si le fournisseur vous remboursera les frais liés à l’article ou s’ils seront à votre charge. Privilégiez également les fournisseurs prévoyant des garanties contractuelles concernant leurs délais d’expédition.

N’oubliez pas qu’une bonne communication avec les fournisseurs est essentielle pour résoudre les problèmes qui se poseront inévitablement. Lors de votre premier contact avec un fournisseur potentiel, demandez-vous s'il sera facile de collaborer avec cette entreprise et si elle est accessible. Ce point est particulièrement important dans la mesure où nombre de fournisseurs sont basés à l’étranger, ce qui pose des problèmes de communication supplémentaires en raison des fuseaux horaires et de la barrière de la langue.

Gestion des problèmes juridiques

La livraison en direct est parfaitement légale, mais elle peut occasionner des litiges juridiques si elle n’est pas gérée correctement.

Comme évoqué précédemment, vérifiez dans quels pays vos produits sont stockés lors du calcul de la TVA afin de bien acquitter toutes les taxes applicables. La contrefaçon constitue aussi un risque, et vous pouvez être tenu pour responsable en cas d’expédition de produits contrefaits. Votre responsabilité peut aussi être engagée si les produits distribués par les fournisseurs enfreignent les droits des marques et violent le contrat de licence.

Pour réduire ces risques, privilégiez des fournisseurs réputés et dignes de confiance, et vérifiez les articles que vous vendez pour repérer d’éventuels problèmes. Si, par exemple, votre fournisseur prétend proposer des sacs à main de marque à un prix largement inférieur à la moyenne, exigez une preuve de leur authenticité et de la détention des autorisations nécessaires.

Facilitez-vous la tâche en optant pour la bonne plateforme.

Le choix de la plateforme joue un rôle essentiel dans le lancement d’un site de livraison en direct. Grâce aux nombreuses fonctionnalités de Magento Commerce, notamment ses outils de gestion des catalogues, vous pouvez facilement assurer le suivi de stocks volumineux, même en ne stockant pas les produits vous-même. Magento Commerce offre aussi un système très performant de calcul des taxes, qui permet aux retailers de tenir compte de toutes les variables en jeu dans le cadre de leur collaboration avec des fournisseurs de livraison en direct. Et grâce aux fonctionnalités d’analytics et de reporting, les retailers, quelle que soit leur taille, sont à même de suivre les commandes et de préserver la rentabilité. C’est très important pour les entreprises qui adoptent le modèle de la livraison en direct et souhaitent enregistrer des volumes de vente élevés avec des effectifs restreints.

Pour en savoir plus sur la capacité de Magento Commerce à faciliter la création d’un site d’e-commerce de livraison en direct et le déploiement d’autres stratégies de retail, demandez une démonstration gratuite.

What is Dropshipping? Benefits, Challenges, and Getting Started

Article

What is Dropshipping? Benefits, Challenges, and Getting Started

About the Article

Dropshipping can be a great approach for eCommerce merchants who want to keep their overhead low. But with the dropshipping market growing steadily in recent years, there are more competitors than ever. Additionally, eCommerce merchants who adopt a dropshipping approach must contend with lower profit margins while choosing the right eCommerce platform to support their dropshipping strategy.

What is Dropshipping?

Dropshipping is a retail strategy where brands don’t directly manage and distribute their product inventories. Instead, when an order is received, information such as product number, delivery address, and order date are sent by the company to a third party to fulfill the order on its behalf.

The dropshipping process follows five main steps:

  • A shopper places an order with a dropshipping retailer.
  • The retailer processes the order and forwards it to the wholesaler.
  • The wholesaler receives the order from the retailer.
  • The wholesaler ships the order.
  • The shopper receives the order.

The main difference between dropshipping and traditional retail fulfillment is that the retailer neither maintains the inventory or the associated physical infrastructure. Additionally, dropshipping fundamentally changes the dynamic between suppliers and retailers. Instead of buying items from suppliers and reselling them, retailers forward orders to suppliers who fulfill them on their behalf. Because of the lack of physical inventory, dropshipping works only for eCommerce retailers, rather than traditional brick-and-mortar operations.

Find out the sales tax implications of dropshipping

Benefits To Dropshipping

Dropshipping offers some significant advantages to eCommerce merchants:

  • Lower startup costs
    Businesses that adopt a dropshipping strategy don’t have to invest capital in acquiring inventory or establishing a location to store it. They also don’t have to spend time organizing their inventory or hiring a staff to fulfill orders. This means that dropshipping has a very low barrier to entry, as you can start a dropshipping business when you don’t have the funds necessary to run a traditional retailing operation.
  • Scalability
    A dropshipping retailer can scale quickly because order fulfillment is not dependent on the size of a physical location or the number of workers needed to ship out an order. For this reason, dropshipping can greatly benefit retailers that experience fluctuating sales due to seasonal factors or other reasons.
  • Lower inventory management
    By eliminating the need to maintain physical inventory, dropshipping reduces the management overhead retailers that face. They do not need to spend time tracking inventory, managing the infrastructure that houses it, or managing shipping, which is outsourced to suppliers.
  • Broad product offerings
    Dropshipping opens up more product opportunities. Retailers can offer a wide range of products with dropshipping, meaning a small business, which would otherwise not be able to offer so many options without storage, can sell a broad selection.
  • Flexibility
    Dropshipping brings flexibility to many facets of a retail business. A brand can operate from anywhere, offer different types of products, and change its offerings easily if market preferences change.

Dropshipping Challenges

Though it is a popular retail strategy, there are specific challenges associated with dropshipping. Successful dropshipping requires the particulars of its workflow align with your business goals. You must also work with the negative impacts associated with dropshipping, such as lower profit margins or potential legal issues.

Reliance on Third-Party Suppliers

Retailers are typically reliant to some extent on their suppliers, but this is especially true for those who use dropshipping services. If a third-party supplier fails to execute an order as promised, the retailer pays the price when the customer complains. Similarly, if a supplier suddenly goes out of business, the retailer faces massive disruption to its own business operations. 

These types of issues would be less of a blow if a retailer has physical inventory on hand, allowing operations to continue during the search for a new supplier. It’s important for new brands to have a working contingency plan in place in the event of such a disruption.

Dropshipping puts control over areas such as product availability and quality control in the hands of third parties as well. It deprives retailers of the ability to inspect items before they ship to customers or offer value-added services, such as pre-installing software on a phone or inscribing a custom message on jewelry.

High Level of Competition

The ease with which a retailer can take advantage of dropshipping means you’re likely to face substantial competition. Unless your business has an exclusive agreement with a supplier to dropship certain products, there is nothing stopping competitors from selling the same products you offer.

This means that retailers who rely on dropshipping may have a harder time standing out from the crowd because they won’t be able to offer products or services unique to their brands. Retailers will need to compete in other ways, such as providing an exceptional customer experience or providing a memorable, user-friendly eCommerce experience.

Tight Profit Margins

Because dropshipping involves outsourcing part of the order fulfillment process to a third party, it lowers your revenue. This means you will usually need to increase sales volume in order to turn the same profit as a traditional retailer.

Difficult Customer Support

When something goes wrong with an order, providing customer support to sort out the issue is more difficult for retailers who don’t control their inventory. If the customer has a question about the product, claims it was defective, or never received it, the retailer may need to work with the third-party seller to resolve the issue. This creates more work and management overhead than if no supplier was involved in the order fulfillment process.

Learn the 5 W's of Dropshipping Tax Rules

How to Get Started with Dropshipping

Before kicking off a dropshipping business, you need to develop a strategy to set you apart from the competition.

Finding Your Niche and Planning for Growth

The first step is to identify the right market opportunity. As noted above, it’s easy for retailers to begin dropshipping, so you need to find a consumer audience that is not already saturated by other sellers dropshipping the same items you are planning to offer. A good approach is to focus on identifying products that are typically difficult for buyers to obtain without engaging a supplier directly, but also hard for retailers to maintain within their own physical inventory. 

Take specialized automotive parts, for example. They are not typically offered off the shelf in most retail stores. At the same time, they would be difficult for all but the largest of retailers to keep in stock, because each specialized part is likely to see a low sales volume. Therefore, each would be costly to keep in inventory, relative to the revenue it generates over a given period of time. By dropshipping these items, a smaller retailer can offer them profitably.

If you can enter into an agreement with a supplier to fulfill orders, you can effectively sell within a particular market space in a way that gives you an advantage over traditional retailers who may seek to sell the same types of products.

It’s also important to think about which market space is best for the long-term growth of your business. Focusing on a line of products you have some expertise in will be an advantage over the competition even if other retailers begin dropshipping the same types of products. Likewise, do your research to determine how much the category of items you sell is expected to grow in coming years.

Creating Your Own Dropshipping Site

Once you’ve determined your product focus, you are ready to create dropshipping website. There are a variety of eCommerce platforms available to help with this task, and it’s important to choose one that aligns with your business goals.

One factor to consider is how comprehensive the platform’s capabilities are. To keep things simple, you may want to choose a single solution that provides everything you need to build a dropshipping site rather than relying on multiple options.

Another factor is how much visibility your dropshipping site and associated tools will give you into the order management process. To help run customer support operations and gain insight into any issues with suppliers, you should be able to collect as much information as possible about what happens after forwarding each order to the supplier.

The online user experience is an important factor to consider as well, as providing a seamless digital commerce environment can help you stand out in competitive markets. Make sure your site is configured for users to conveniently access, browse, and purchase through their preferred devices.

Handling Finances

While dropshipping requires relatively little initial investment, it’s critical to manage finances properly in order to generate a profit over the long term. Stay on top of the profit generated by each sale and don’t be afraid to explore other product offerings if your current line isn’t generating the expected amount of revenue. 

You should also reevaluate your dropshipping partnerships on an ongoing basis. You may be able to find a new supplier who offers lower costs for the same products. This type of adaptability is critical for maximizing dropshipping’s revenue potential.

Finally, factor taxation into your financial equation. Dropshipping makes taxation somewhat more complex because sales tax calculations depend in part on where the supplier is located. Check out this tax rules guide for details on how to approach taxation for a dropshipping business.

Working with Suppliers and Fulfilling Orders

Because dropshipping suppliers play a central role in the fulfillment process, it’s important to choose one that is reliable and offers rapid order processing. Do your research and look for established suppliers with a demonstrated track record of successful retailer partnerships.

Form relationships with multiple suppliers so if one runs out of an item – or goes out of business – you have a backup ready to pick up the slack. Order and test out a few products from each to see if they can deliver quality goods in a timely fashion. This has the added bonus of giving you first-hand experience with the products you’re selling so you can better market them to customers.

Pay attention to agreements regarding what happens if a supplier runs out of stock, known as a “backorder” situation. Find out if it cancels an order entirely or if it will be fulfilled when said item is back in stock. Likewise, if a customer reports a problem with an order caused by the supplier and you determine a refund to the customer is warranted, find out if the dropshipper refunds your costs associated with the item or if you have to absorb the expense. You should also look for a supplier who offers contractual guarantees items will ship within a certain timeframe.

Remember, good communication with suppliers is critical to working through the problems that will inevitably arise. When you first approach a dropshipper, pay close attention to how easy the company is to work with and how accessible it is. This is especially important given many suppliers are based overseas, which creates additional communication challenges related to time zones and language differences.

Addressing Legal Issues

Dropshipping itself is completely legal, but it can create legal issues if the process isn’t handled correctly.

As noted above, you have to pay attention to jurisdictions where your inventory is stored when calculating sales tax to avoid tax underpayment. Counterfeit items can also create some legal risks for dropshipping retailers as you may be held liable if suppliers ship counterfeit products. You could also be liable for trademark or licensing violations on products your shippers distribute.

Choosing reliable, reputable suppliers can help reduce these risks. So can reviewing the items you sell for signs of potential issues. For example, if your dropshipper claims to be able to supply designer handbags for a fraction of what they cost elsewhere, get proof the items are genuine and all necessary licenses are in place.

Make Dropshipping Easy with the Right Platform

Launching a successful dropshipping site hinges on choosing the right platform. Magento Commerce offers a variety of features, such as catalog management tools, which make it easy to keep track of extensive inventories, even if you don’t stock the products yourself. Magento Commerce also provides a powerful system for tax calculation, allowing retailers to factor in all variables when working with dropshipping suppliers. Additionally, analytics and reporting features help retailers track orders and maintain profitability at any scale. This is a particularly important consideration for businesses which relies on the dropshipping model in order to achieve a high sales volume while maintaining a small staff.

Learn more about how Magento Commerce makes it easy to build an eCommerce site for dropshipping and any other kind of retail strategy by requesting a free demo.

What is Dropshipping? Benefits, Challenges, and Getting Started