Article

Centres de traitement : ce qu’il faut savoir

À propos de Article

Lorsque l’activité du site d’e-commerce augmente, il est parfois quasi impossible de traiter soi-même les commandes. Nombre de boutiques en ligne sont donc amenées à externaliser cette activité. Si les centres de traitement peuvent faire gagner du temps aux cybermarchands, il faut tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs opérationnels. Vous découvrirez dans ce guide ce qu’est un centre de traitement et si cette solution est adaptée à votre activité d’e-commerce.

Qu’est-ce qu’un centre de traitement ?

Ce prestataire se charge du traitement et de l’expédition des produits à votre place. Les centres de traitement gèrent la logistique nécessaire à la livraison des commandes aux clients, vous déchargeant ainsi du conditionnement et de l’expédition.

Première conséquence : vos produits doivent être stockés dans le centre de traitement. Ensuite, lorsqu’une commande est passée sur votre site web, vous devez en informer le centre de traitement, qui doit alors localiser les articles commandés, les préparer pour l’expédition et contacter un prestataire pour la livraison au client. Pour le client, le seul point de contact demeure le site d’e-commerce.

Différentes prestations de traitement sont disponibles. Certaines comme le service Expédié par Amazon sont réservées aux vendeurs qui gèrent leur boutique en ligne via des plateformes données. D’autres comme FedEx Fulfillment sont intégrées à d’autres services logistiques, tandis que Floship et James and James Fulfillment sont proposées par des sociétés spécialisées dans les activités de traitement pour les prestataires d’e-commerce externes.

Téléchargez le guide de Magento sur la simplification des achats et du traitement.

Avantages et inconvénients

Pour les cybermarchands, les centres de traitement présentent un certain nombre d’avantages :

  • Pas d’infrastructure physique
    Plus besoin de disposer d’un site physique de stockage et de traitement des commandes.
  • Des commandes traitées plus rapidement
    En général, les commandes sont expédiées plus rapidement que lorsque le cybermarchand s’en charge lui-même.
  • Des coûts de personnel réduits
    Inutile de recruter et de gérer du personnel pour traiter les commandes.
  • Un plus grand choix de produits
    Vous pouvez offrir plus facilement un grand choix de produits, puisque l’espace de stockage n’est pas un problème en soi.
  • Un volume d’activité plus facile à adapter
    Un centre de traitement étant capable de traiter des dizaines, voire des milliers de commandes par jour, il est plus facile pour le vendeur de préserver la régularité des flux d’expédition.
  • La possibilité de se focaliser sur d’autres activitésrk
    Libérées du traitement des commandes, les entreprises peuvent consacrer davantage de temps aux tâches stratégiques, comme la planification du développement de l’activité.

Les centres de traitement présentent également des inconvénients :

  • Coût
    Le vendeur doit par exemple s’acquitter d’un forfait pour l’intégration de sa boutique avec un centre de traitement ainsi que de frais pour chaque commande traitée.
  • Absence de contrôle
    Le vendeur n’a que peu d’influence sur la rapidité d’exécution des commandes par le centre de traitement et ne peut pas intervenir directement en cas de problème.
  • Délais d’expédition
    Bien que le traitement soit censé être plus rapide, le délai d’expédition d’un article dépend en grande partie de la situation géographique du centre de traitement. S’il est très éloigné du client, les délais risquent de s’allonger.
  • Manque de personnalisation
    En général, les centres de traitement ne permettent pas aux vendeurs de personnaliser les commandes ou d’y ajouter une touche spéciale, comme un mot de remerciement pour chaque acheteur.
  • Retards de réapprovisionnement
    La plupart des centres de traitement exigent du vendeur qu’il assure lui-même le suivi des stocks et les reconstitue si nécessaire. L’incapacité à remplacer rapidement un produit en rupture de stock peut donc provoquer des retards de traitement.

Principe de fonctionnement d’un centre de traitement

Si vous décidez de faire appel à un centre de traitement, il convient de choisir un prestataire approprié. Essayez d’en trouver un qui est à proximité de vos clients et pratique des tarifs dans votre budget.

Vous devez ensuite entreposer vos stocks sur le site du prestataire et intégrer vos boutiques en ligne avec ses systèmes pour qu’il reçoive les informations nécessaires lorsqu’une commande est passée. Ce processus doit normalement être automatisé, car il n’est pas pratique d’avoir à envoyer des demandes manuellement chaque fois qu’une commande est passée sur votre site web..

Les autres activités de traitement sont de la responsabilité du vendeur. Par exemple, en cas de commande erronée, le vendeur doit contacter le client pour régler le problème. Les paiements doivent également être gérés séparément, la plupart des centres de traitement n’incluant pas ce service dans leur offre.

Découvrez comment honorer rapidement toutes vos commandes, même en période de pointe.

Centres de traitement ou entrepôts

On parle indifféremment d’« entrepôt d’expédition » et de « centre de traitement ». À tort, car il s’agit de concepts différents.

Un entrepôt classique est un site qui peut abriter des stocks sur une longue période, sachant que ces derniers ne sont pas toujours accessibles d’emblée. De plus, les entrepôts constituent uniquement une solution de stockage. Ils n’offrent pas les services de préparation, d’étiquetage, d’emballage ou d’expédition proposés par les centres de traitement. Ils sont utiles en cas de surstock ou de produits saisonniers.

Les centres de traitement abritent, quant à eux, les stocks pendant une durée relativement limitée, avant leur expédition aux clients lorsque des commandes sont passées.

Percez le secret de meilleures expériences de traitement des commandes.

Pour tirer le meilleur parti des centres de traitement, les cybermarchands ont besoin de souplesse et de choix. Leur plateforme d’e-commerce doit être capable de s’intégrer avec le centre de traitement de leur choix, sans nécessiter de tâches manuelles chaque fois qu’une commande est passée.

Les meilleures plateformes d’e-commerce permettent aussi de proposer plusieurs options de traitement, par exemple l’expédition depuis une boutique proche, le retrait en magasin ou le transfert du traitement à un autre site lorsque la première option n’est pas disponible. Cette souplesse est indispensable pour s’assurer que les clients reçoivent leurs commandes le plus rapidement possible, en toutes circonstances.

Fortunately, Magento Commerce supports all these fulfillment options, integrates with the most popular fulfillment providers, and provides essential tools for order and inventory management. Magento Commerce propose toutes ces options, s’intègre avec les principaux prestataires de traitement et inclut des outils essentiels pour la gestion des commandes et des stocks. Pour en savoir plus, demandez une démonstration dès aujourd’hui.

Fulfillment Centers: Everything You Need to Know

Article

Fulfillment Centers: Everything You Need to Know

About the Article

Fulfilling orders on your own can become almost impossible as your eCommerce brand grows. That’s why many eCommerce businesses outsource fulfillment to external providers. Fulfillment centers can help online retailers process orders quickly, although there are some important operating considerations to keep in mind. In this guide you’ll learn what a fulfillment center is and whether it’s a good fit for your eCommerce strategy.

What is a Fulfillment Center?

A fulfillment center is a third-party service provider which processes and ships products that your customers have purchased. Fulfillment centers handle the logistics required to get an order to a customer’s doorstep, eliminating the need for you to package, address, and ship each order yourself.

To use a fulfillment center, you must first store your product inventory with the fulfillment provider. Then, when you receive an order through your website, you notify the fulfillment center, which in turn locates the item ordered, prepares it for shipping, and works with a shipping provider to have it delivered to your customer. From the customer’s perspective, the sole point of contact remains your eCommerce site.

A variety of companies offer fulfillment center services. Some, like Fulfillment by Amazon services, are available only to sellers who manage their online stores through certain platforms. Others, like FedEx Fulfillment, are integrated with other logistics services, while Floship or James and James Fulfillment are offered by companies specializing in fulfillment operations for third-party eCommerce vendors.

Download Magento’s Guide to Streamlining Purchasing and Fulfillment

Fulfillment Centers: Advantages and Disadvantages

For eCommerce merchants, fulfillment centers offer a range of advantages:

  • No physical infrastructure
    Fulfillment centers eliminate the need to maintain a physical location for housing and processing your orders.
  • Faster order processing
    Fulfillment centers can ship orders faster than most eCommerce sellers can on their own.
  • Lower staffing costs
    With a fulfillment center, you do not need to hire and manage your own staff to handle orders.
  • Larger product selection
    Fulfillment centers make it more feasible for sellers to offer a larger selection of products than they could manage if they had to maintain inventories themselves.
  • Scalable operations
    Fulfillment centers are capable of processing dozens or even thousands of orders per day, helping sellers keep shipping flowing consistently.
  • More time for other work
    By freeing brands from the work of handling orders, fulfillment centers give companies more time to focus on strategic tasks, like planning business growth.

However, fulfillment centers come with some drawbacks:

  • Cost
    Sellers have to pay fulfillment center providers for their services, such as a flat fee to integrate your store with the fulfillment center along with fees for each order processed.
  • Lack of control
    Brands have little control over how quickly a fulfillment center processes orders and cannot intervene in fulfillment operations when something goes wrong.
  • Shipping time
    Although fulfillment centers may be able to process orders faster, the time it takes to ship an item from a center to the customer depends in large part on where the center is located, potentially extending shipping timeframes.
  • Lack of customization
    Fulfillment centers typically do not allow sellers to customize orders or add special touches, like inserting a personalized thank you note for each buyer.
  • Inventory replenishment delays
    Most fulfillment centers require the seller to keep track of inventory and replenish it as needed. This means orders could be delayed in the event a seller is unable to replace an out-of-stock product quickly.

How a Fulfillment Center Works

The first step in using a fulfillment center is to find the right fulfillment provider. Look for one with locations close to your customers and whose prices align with your budget.

You will then situate inventory in the fulfillment provider’s facilities and integrate your online stores with the fulfillment center systems so the provider receives the necessary information from the seller when an order is placed. This process should be automatic as it’s not ideal to trigger fulfillment requests manually each time a new order is completed on your website.

Other order processing activities remain the responsibility of the seller. For example, if customers receive the wrong order, the seller will need to contact the customer to address the issue. Payment must also be handled separately since payment processing is not a service most fulfillment providers offer.

Learn How to Fulfill Orders Even During Your Peak Season

Fulfillment Centers Vs. Warehousing

The term “fulfillment warehouse” is sometimes used interchangeably with “fulfillment center.” This can lead to some confusion, because fulfillment centers differ from traditional warehouses.

A traditional warehouse is a location where inventory can be stored for the long term and may not always be immediately accessible. Warehouses also offer only a storage solution without providing the picking, labeling, packaging, or shipping services offered by fulfillment centers. Warehouses are useful if you have excess inventory which requires storage until you are prepared to sell or seasonal products that sell only during certain times of year.

In contrast to warehouses, fulfillment centers focus on storing inventory for relatively short periods of time, then shipping to customers when orders are placed.

Unlock the Secret to Better Fulfillment Experiences

To get the most out of fulfillment centers, eCommerce providers need flexibility and choice. The eCommerce platform they use must be able to integrate with any fulfillment provider they choose to work with, without requiring manual effort on the part of the seller each time an order is placed. 

The best eCommerce platforms also make it easy to offer customers multiple fulfillment options, like shipping from a local store, facilitating in-store pickup, or shifting fulfillment to a different location in the event the first option is unavailable. This flexibility is critical for ensuring customers receive orders as quickly as possible, every time.

Fortunately, Magento Commerce supports all these fulfillment options, integrates with the most popular fulfillment providers, and provides essential tools for order and inventory management. Learn more by scheduling a Magento Commerce demo today.

Fulfillment Centers: Everything You Need to Know